Astbury members receive prestigious awards

Congratulations to Sarah Harris, Qian Wu, Megan Wright and Patricija van Oosten Hawle, (left to right in the photograph) who have all been awarded prestigious prizes in the last few weeks.

Dr Sarah Harris from the School of Physics and Astronomy was one of the 12 female scientists and engineers presented with hand-crafted jewellery at the EPSRC Suffrage Science Awards ceremony, held at The Royal Society.

Dr Qian Wu has been awarded the Biochemical Society early career research award 2019 for her work on understanding the functional mechanisms of the human DNA damage response and repair pathways, and identifying potential targets for future drug discovery.

Dr Megan Wright has been awarded a Young Investigator Award by the American Chemical Society. These awards recognise outstanding young investigators in the field of infectious disease research.

Dr Patricija van Oosten Hawle has been awarded The Ferruccio Ritossa Early Career Award. The award will be presented to Patricija in San Diego later this year for her work on understanding stress response mechanisms in multicellular organisms, such as Transcellular Chaperone Signalling.